Art Council

The Art Council is a sub-group of the Bosque Arts Center made up of a 12-member volunteer board. Potential Art Council members shall have demonstrated at least two years of commitment to the goals of the organization by being an Art Patron or showing evidence of service supporting the visual fine arts. All members serve a term of three years. Officers are elected for one-year terms. The Art Council sponsors several art-related events ranging from the annual Bosque Art Classic juried art show to special seminars/talks given by local artists and/or gallery owners, to a high school art show promoting art students from Bosque County. The Council also sponsors workshops by artists Bruce Greene, Martin Grelle, and guests artists.

In 2009, the Council implemented a "Featured Artist" program promoting the art of several artists in the Arts Center's 2nd Floor Gallery.

The Art Council year runs from October through September.

Art Council Board Members for 2018-19:

Karen Hughes, President
Karen Cornett, Secretary
Tom Blossom, Treasurer 

Leanne Donner
Marvin Grelle
Joyce Jones
John Linn
Johnny Tate
George Walker


Advisory Board to the Art Council:
Tony Eubanks
Bruce Greene
Martin Grelle


Congratulations to the winners of the 15th Annual High School Student Art Show at the Bosque Arts Center.  Sydney Hewitt of Clifton took home top honors with the Best in Show Award (sponsored by Roland and Joyce Jones), as well as first place in the Oil/Acrylic, Pastel, and Drawing categories. Michaela Agin, also of Clifton, earned first place in Watercolor/Tempera and Mixed Media. 

The BAC Art Council, sponsors of the show, received 89 entries this year for a quality show, judged by Martin Grelle, CA.  Schools represented were Clifton, Meridian, Cranfills Gap, Hico, Whitney, Hamilton, and Valley Mills.   Our thanks to all the talented students who entered and to their teachers and parents for supporting the arts in our young people.

15th Annual High School Student Art Show Winners

Best in Show

Debonair  - Sydney Hewitt (Clifton/12)


1st - Contentment - Michaela Agin (Clifton/12)
2nd  - Grandpa’s Lake - Sydney Hewitt (Clifton/12)
3rd -  In Reflection - Rebecca Whitfield (Whitney/11)
H - Tomorrow Belongs to Me - Aurora Patton (Clifton/12)
H - Waterbird - Sara Chase (Valley Mills/11)
1st - Day Dreaming - Sydney Hewitt (Clifton/12)
2nd  - Roscoe - Hailey Graves (Valley Mills/10)
3rd - I Love The Nightlife - Linda Canfield (Whitney/12)
H - Deep Waters - Kyra Zengerle (Valley Mills/10)
1st - Still Life of Candles and Dish - Sydney Hewitt (Clifton/12)
2nd  - Rose - Isabel Garza (Meridian/10)
3rd - Fish Out of Water  - Isabel Garza (Meridian/10)
Drawing:  Pencil/Ink/Charcoal/Color/Graphite
1st - Debonair - Sydney Hewitt (Clifton/12)
2nd  - An Artist’s Touch - Isabel Garza (Meridian/10)
3rd - Winter Pines - Luis Gonzales (Valley Mills/11)
H -  Questions - Noelia Delgado (Whitney/11)
Mixed Media
1st - The Price on My Head - Michaela Agin (Clifton/12)
2nd  - Liberty Still Stands - Noelia Delgado (Whitney/11)
3rd - Oni-Geisha - Aurora Patton (Clifton/12)
H - Eat at Pop’s - Daisey Figueroa (Whitney/12)


Support the Arts!
Join Us. Become a Member!
Where We Are

P.O. Box 373
215 College Hill Drive
Clifton, Texas 76634

Mon-Fri: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Interactive Map

Find us on Facebook.